Evelyn Miller

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Email
pic 2 - Evelyn Miller.jpg

Birthday

June 25th, 2003

Hometown

Westford, Massachusetts


Major/Minors

Mechanical Engineering


Other extracurriculars

Tricking Club, Society of Women Engineers, Fringe

 

Graduation Year

2025


Ethnicity

Chinese

MBTI

ENFP

Love Languages

quality time, physical touch, acts of service

Tell us About Yourself​

I am a freshman majoring in mechanical engineering. My hometown is Westford, Massachusetts, a small town about 40 minutes outside Boston. I’m a cancer and my MBTI type is ENFP.

I’ve been doing gymnastics for 15 years, and I’ve continued that passion by joining the tricking club here at CMU. One year at a summer gymnastics camp, I met olympian Laurie Hernandez, which was probably one of the best days of my life because she was like my idol.

Music is also a big part of my life. I have been playing the violin since 3rd grade, and was in orchestra in high school. Aside from making music, I enjoy listening to a wide variety of genres (indie, r&b, kpop, classical, etc.) and making Spotify playlists; I feel like it definitely relieves my stress. Some of my favorite artists at the moment are Clairo, The Weeknd, and Dayglow.

I also love doing crafts, especially bullet journaling. It helps me stay organized, but also gives me an outlet for creativity. I have a huge collection of stationery, notebooks, and pens, and I probably spend way too much money and time on it.

I’m an only child, but I have a dog, so I basically have a little sibling. My dog’s name is Waffles and she is a mixed terrier. We don’t know her exact mix, but we do know that she is originally from Puerto Rico. I love taking her for walks in the conservation area near my house and teaching her tricks. When I was younger, my dream job was to be a dog trainer, especially the ones that teach dogs tricks in movies.
 

Hobbies/interests/passions?

gymnastics, bullet journaling, listening to music and making playlists, cooking, violin

What are some things you can't live without? 

I can’t live without coffee, Netflix, and my Doc Martens.

What are your college and career goals? 

My college goals are to explore a bunch of courses to see what I enjoy doing, and if I want to add any additional majors or minors. Right now, I am taking the intro to Engineering and Public Policy course because I enjoy writing and public policy, and I might be interested in pursuing this double major. I still don’t know what I want to pursue as a career, but I am interested in a broad range of topics such as robotics, AI, autonomous vehicles, sustainability, and climate change mitigation.

Clothing sizes

Top size/dress size: small
Bottoms: 2 or 3 (depends on brand)
Jackets/outerwear: small
Shoe size: 6 (6.5 if it runs small)

What do you look for in a potential big sister?
Who do you look up to most? Why?
What kind of personalities do you get along with?
What is a moment or achievement you're proud of?
What qualities do you value in a person?
What do you hope to gain from the new member process of Kappa Phi Lambda?

Personality traits: easygoing, understanding, adventurous, funny, also having similar interests
Type of relationship: I would like my relationship with my big to be like a sister-sister relationship. Ideally, I would be able to talk to her about anything, get support from her when I need it, and have a lot of fun together.
I would prefer my big to be an active member at CMU, rather than an alum or someone who goes to a different school. Also, I would prefer that my big doesn’t pick up any other littles in future years.

I look up to my dad the most because he’s a goal-oriented person who is able to achieve anything he puts his mind to. He always pushed me when I lost confidence in myself and encouraged me to try new things, and I probably wouldn’t have gotten into CMU without his support.

I get along with pretty much everyone, as I consider myself to be more extraverted.

I’m proud of winning the regional championships for gymnastics in 2018.

I value honesty, perseverance, authenticity, generosity, and communication.

I think the New Member Process will allow me to meet and get closer with the sisters of KPL, as well as understand/experience the values of KPL. I am the most excited for the cultural diversity pillar of KPL because I take pride in my culture and can’t wait to host cultural events and workshops on campus, and attend cultural events at other colleges or chapters to broaden my perspective.

Favorite...

Movie

i don't really have one, but my fave show is the office

Color

blue

Food

pasta

Book

Divergent

Music Genre

indie

Junk Food

chocolate

Animal

dog

Clothing Style/Store/Shop

ughh can't pick just one, but probably forever 21, american eagle, and pacsun

Place

my home

Likes

  1. working out

  2. shopping

  3. travelling

  4. listening to music

  5. doing crafts

  6. going hiking

  7. going to the beach

  8. late night drives

  9. cooking

  10. baking

Dislikes

  1. physics

  2. calculus

  3. programming

  4. scallops

  5. kiwi

  6. licorice

  7. seafood

  8. frosting

  9. heights

  10. roller coasters