Silvia Shin

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Email
IMG_2851 - Silvia Shin.JPG

Hometown

Franklin Lakes, New Jersey


Major/Minors

Design

Graduation Year

2026

 

Other extracurriculars

ASA, MMA, Game Creation Society, Olympic recurve archery


Ethnicity

Korean

MBTI

INFP

Love Languages

Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service

Tell us About Yourself​

 

My name is Silvia Shin and I'm a first-year majoring in Design! I was born in Manhasset, NY and was raised in northern NJ for my whole life. Currently I live in Franklin Lakes, NJ and I went to Ramapo High School. Both of my parents were born and raised in South Korea and moved to NY when they were in high school. I can understand Korean but I can't speak it fluently. I have a younger brother named Ryan who is 15 and a pet Shih tzu named Minnie who is 10. My MBTI is INFP, my zodiac sign is Scorpio, and I was born on October 26, 2003. I love listening to music (k-r&b, r&b, soul, kpop) and playing video games (Valorant, Stardew Valley, etc.) in my freetime. My favorite color is pink and I love horror/thriller movies! I also love to play instruments like the guitar and ukulele, and I really want to learn the drums and piano. My current favorite artists include Audrey Nuna, keshi, Gemini, Seori, UMI, and Bruno Major. My favorite cuisine is Japanese food and my favorite dish is sushi! I prefer savory foods over sweet. I really want a pet snake. I would describe myself as someone who loves to try new things and is open for anything, but that also means I can be indecisive. My current goals this semester are to start working out, grow healthy habits, and get better at art and drawing. In high school, I did archery a lot but took a long break during application season and I wish to get back into it. I wouldn't describe myself as an athletic person because I have really bad coordination, but I want to train it at CMU. I also want to start taking more pictures and posting pictures without taking them down.

Clothing sizes

Top: XS

Dress: XS

Bottoms: S

Jackets: M/L

Outerwear: M/L

Shoe size: 6 or 6 1/2

What are your college and career goals? 

I'm hoping to just experience as much as I can in college and get really good at art and design. I want to start working out and developing a healthier and more productive mindset, as well as try to be more active in clubs and extracurricular. I wish to create lifelong relationships and grow as a person. As for my career goals, I plan to minor in HCI and Ideate and get a job in UX/UI Design for a good company.

Hobbies/interests/passions?

I love listening to music (k-r&b, r&b, soul, kpop), playing video games (Valorant, Stardew Valley, etc.), art in any medium, and food!!

What are some things you can't live without? 

I can't live without my dog (who i'm struggling living without already..), my PC, and ramen.

What do you look for in a potential big sister?
Who do you look up to most? Why?
What kind of personalities do you get along with?
What is a moment or achievement you're proud of?
What qualities do you value in a person?
What do you hope to gain from the new member process of Kappa Phi Lambda?

I look for someone who is supportive, open-minded, and has the same hobbies/passions as me! I want to have a close relationship where we can tell each other anything and can have each others back, and also who pushes me to go out of my comfort zone and grow as a person. Also someone who would be willing to try new food with me.

I look up to my mom the most because I thought she was really strong for immigrating to the United States and attending high school/college without any previous knowledge of English or the culture. She gets along with everyone and her English has gotten really good, and I think she is really strong for being able to tolerate my brother and I. She's also a really good cook.

I feel like I can get along with all personalities because I find that I subconsciously match people's energies and I am a people pleaser so I don't find myself particularly clashing with anyone. I am a go with the flow kind of person and I always try to keep an open mind so I think I can fit most communities, but I obviously will clash with rude/mean people.

A moment I'm proud of is a little while ago when I auditioned for KPDC Kick it by NCT. It was really ugly and I can't dance at all but I'm proud of pushing myself to audition even when I didn't have to. I will probably be embarrassed for another week but I'm glad I gave it a shot.

I value open-mindedness, respect, patience, honesty, and passion for the things they do. I think being understanding and not judgmental of others is a very important trait. I value people who understand that it's okay to be different but also okay to be like everyone else and people who don't push things away is always looking to support their peers.

I hope to get to know all of the sisters and bond with them, especially the ones I didn't have a chance to really get to know during rush. I also wish to bond with my class and overall form life-long friendships!

Favorite...

Movie

Train to Busan

Color

Pink

Food

Sushi

Book

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Music Genre

R&B

Junk Food

Hi-chew

Animal

Fox

Clothing Style/Store/Shop

Acubi fashion

Place

Home <3

Likes

  1. Barbecue Chips

  2. Iced Lattes

  3. Hair Dye

  4. Makeup

  5. Tattoos/Piercings

  6. Videogames

  7. My bed

  8. The color pink

  9. Shopping

  10. Horror/Thriller movies

Dislikes

  1. Dirty snow

  2. Sand in between your toes

  3. Olives

  4. Onions

  5. Country music

  6. Bugs

  7. Humidity

  8. Dust

  9. Lines (waiting lines)

  10. When concerts are sold out :(